MEDA101

“Where I’m From”

MEDA101 – the first year introduction to media arts course, and the continuation of my Digital Media major at UOW.  AKA I should have completed this subject last year, but due to the delusion that without a commerce double degree I would not be able to land a job post-university, I chose instead to do introduction-level business subjects.  Trust me, I will not make that mistake again.

As a major part of this course, we are required to create our own poem in the style of George Ella Lyon’s poem, “Where I’m From”.  Rather than being a straightforward, “I am from Wollongong” style poem, it instead relies on feelings, sounds and sensations to describe the poet’s home in Kentucky:

“I am from clothespins,
from Clorox and carbon-tetrachloride.
I am from the dirt under the back porch.
(Black, glistening,
it tasted like beets.)
I am from the forsythia bush
the Dutch elm
whose long-gone limbs I remember
as if they were my own.”

Using our poem as a starting point, we are to create 10 remoscopes (1 minute long clips without moving the camera, zooming, or editing the footage) based on the sights and sounds we wrote about.  Our first assessment will be a 30-second edit of these remoscopes!

I’m still in the process of drafting my poem, but once it’s completed and I am happy with it, I’ll be posting it on here under the MEDA101 heading.  Stay tuned for some poetry, and try not to judge me too harshly.  It’s not my forté.

またね xx

Leave a Reply

