BCM212

A ‘Brooke’ of All Trades

When I introduce myself to others, I usually describe myself as a ‘jack of all trades’; that is, someone who dabbles in a little bit of everything without a speciality.  I am not terribly incompetent at anything, but nor am I an expert.  I have a basic knowledge of everything.  Why is this?  I believe it is a combination of the curiosity with which I approach the unknown – combined with my relatively short attention span.  No, honestly!  If I don’t find it interesting, I’ll move on.  Simple as that, really.

Curiosity is the driving force behind many of the choices I make in life.  Curiosity can cultivate motivation, which breeds ambition.  By simply asking “what if?” and striving to answer the question we pose, we allow our innate curiosity to fuel both our logic and imagination.  I learned very quickly which fields I wanted to study in at university after trying a double degree of commerce and BCMS – I dropped my commerce degree after 10 weeks.  It was clear to me that commerce offered no room for errors or exploration, relying heavily on one’s ability to memorise textbook passages and colour in test bubbles.  My friend’s responses when I told them I was dropping commerce only reinforced this: “Good, get out while you can!”.

It’s clear that although it may lead to a profitable career (and some people truly do enjoy it), commerce wasn’t going to encourage me to learn, or inspire me in the way technology and communication does.  When I enjoy what I’m learning, I will stay up to the wee hours of the morning just because I haven’t finished reading about the most obscure parts of the topic.  Film and pop culture will do it for me, as will digital media, Japanese culture, music, literature, tinkering, future careers, snowsports and writing – just to name a few.  In my opinion, it is curiosity which plants the seed from which all our passions grow.

Leave a Reply

