Personal Life

2017 – A New Me?

Hello there and welcome to 2017!

It’s been a long time since I wrote on this blog, and I’m not quite sure why.  It may be simply because I’m on my university break and I don’t have any uni work to write about, or maybe because without the framework of topics I find it difficult to stay constant with my writing.  Not that I was constant before, but that’s beside the point.

Anyway, it’s a new year and therefore I’ve decided to write a little spiel on the concept of “new year, new me”.  Personally, I’m conflicted about it.  Making new year’s resolutions always seemed stupid to me simply because they never work.

I’ve made the same resolutions every year for about 5 or 6 years now – get fitter, eat better, be more organised, stay in contact with people, be happier, etc. etc. etc… and it doesn’t work!  Well, not for me anyway.  I’ve seen my friends quit smoking, lose weight, stop eating sugar, and be better people in general as soon as one year ends and a new one begins.  These people are fundamentally different from me in one way, however – it’s in their mindset towards their resolutions.

I always believed the new year would instill in me some form of godly motivation and resolve, and my resolutions would eventuate due to this unseen power.  The people who actually do change their lives on the cusp of a new year use the positive motivation of “new year, new me” to drive themselves to commit to these changes, and wholeheartedly work towards them.

IMG_0367.jpgCelebrating the new year countdown at work with my new friends

The new year can change lives, but only if you stop and understand that “new year, new me” isn’t about becoming a different person.  Instead, it’s a chance to realise the power and motivation within yourself to achieve your goals.  Personally, I am not full of natural motivation, so this is not easy for me, but with a little bit of inner understanding it may not be entirely impossible.

So with this in mind, 2017 will be the year that I take on my biggest resolution yet:
BEING MORE CONSTANT. This one is huge for me.  I don’t regularly blog or make videos; I can’t work to a schedule; my bad time management affects my daily life; I can’t balance social life, fitness and work.  So this is where I will start working on my “new me”!  If I can take control of my life, perhaps my other dreams aren’t so unreachable.

2017 offers so many opportunities and I plan to take them by doing everything I want to.  Start a YouTube channel (a dream of mine for so long) – why not?  Better time management – I’ll give it a go.  Consistent fitness – harder, but not impossible.

Let’s celebrate 2017; the year of self motivation.

 

Leave a Reply

