Personal Life

So Where To Now…?

It’s almost the end of the first semester of my university life, and my god it’s gone fast!  I swear it was only a few weeks ago I was finishing my HSC and now I’m fully settled into my new lifestyle.  I have to say, making the decision to come to uni – a last minute, spur of the moment decision for me – was definitely worth it.  I have met so many amazing individuals; my lecturers and tutors, friends and classmates, and a guy who stole my heart.  I guess the big question is, now that the first step is all finished up, where am I going from here?

My original ticket into uni was a double degree in Communications / Media and Commerce, so I would have a little bit of business behind my true passion and interest.  Turns out that commerce is a full-on commitment and really isn’t what I was expecting or like, so I’ve decided to drop back to a single degree.  This way I can do minors in subjects like Public Relations (from Commerce) that interest me, rather than dedicate my entire degree to it.  I was told once that if you’re not doing what you enjoy then you’ll never make it, so in that spirit (and the spirit of FEFO – fail early, fail often) I am cutting out the dreaded Commerce!!

On that note, what major will I choose?  It’s not going to be journalism – sorry to all my journalist friends, but it’s never going to happen.  That leaves me with Digital Media & Communications, Global Media & Communications, and Marketing & Advertising.  At the moment I’d really like to work in public relations, so that leans more towards M&A, but I think a background in DMC will be very helpful, especially as the world grows more digital.  I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Outside of uni, I am actively job-hunting.  There hasn’t been much success yet but hopefully I’ll get there soon!  I’m also trying to turn my life around health-wise; easing back into physical activity and trying (key word: trying) to eat healthier.

Will I keep up with all my BCM110 and BCM112 projects?  I’d like to say yes, but I’m not the most consistent person in the world (another thing I’m working on!).  Tweeting has become a part of my daily social media activity so I think that will continue, but might become less uni-based and more personal.  Our digital artefact, Five Second Summaries, will be easy enough to continue on without the guidance of my lecturer.  The Vine channel and Facebook page have kind of taken off on their own and it’s so much fun to do!  I’d love to continue it.

And finally, what about this blog?  Although I was slack with my blog posts when they were being marked, I really do enjoy writing blog posts and sharing my thoughts with others in pieces of writing that are longer than 140 characters.  Along with the other BCM subjects I’ll be undertaking, which very well may include blogging again, I think it’s a good project, pastime and escape from the world.

In a nutshell: yes, I will keep tweeting, blogging and making vines as often as I can.  I will take on life as an adult, a worker and a uni student, and hopefully come out of it as someone I’m proud of.

That’s all from me… 頑張ろう!

Brooke xx

Leave a Reply

